This article will discuss how everything works within the scope of the Message Recall option for PGP Encryption Cloud Server for the Secure Inbox and how the recall process works and the configuration options available to organizations.
The Policy Based Encryption (PBE) service provides a "Message Recall" feature that allows users or administrators to attempt to retrieve or invalidate an encrypted message after it has been sent.
The Message Recall option is the ability to make a sent message no longer available to the recipient. When this happens, the recipient is provided with a "Recalled Message" notification email.
This informs them that the message previously sent, will no longer be available.
When the recall option is utilized, the following applies:
Configuration Options
Sending User: The recall button can be made available to the individual who sent the email.
Administrator: The recall capability can be restricted to only administrative users.
Combination: Both the sender and the administrator can be granted recall permissions.
Disabled: Organizations can choose to completely remove the option to recall messages for all users.
Requesting Changes
If you would like to enable/disable the recall feature, or if you would like the option to disable sending the automated recall message to the recipient, reach out to PGP Encryption Support for further guidance.