Symantec Endpoint Encryption Autologon client included by default in version 11.3.1 and above

book

Article ID: 213082

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Endpoint Encryption

Issue/Introduction

Historically Symantec Endpoint Encryption has separate installers for the Autologon client.  If you wanted to take advantage of the Autologon client for Windows upgrade deployments, or Kiosk situations, you needed to create a separate Autologon client installer.  

Symantec Endpoint Encryption 11.3.1 has now included the Autologon client so it is part of the main SEE Client installer application.

 

Enabling or disabling Autologon for Symantec Endpoint Encryption using Advanced Settings

Uninstalling the legacy Autologon client for Symantec Endpoint Encryption after upgrading to 11.3.1 and above

Tip: See the "Additional Information" section of the article below for links to some of these articles.

Resolution

If you have previously installed/deployed the autologon client in your deployment with versions 11.3.0 and previous, and then upgrade to 11.3.1 or later, the Autologon client will then be included as part of the 11.3.1 installer. 

 

When you go through the regular SEE Client installer creation wizard, the Autologon policy will now be part of this process.  It is no longer part of its separate screen and will now be part of the SEE Client policy in the SEE Management Server:

 

As you can see the screenshot above, these are all the same values as before, but combined into the SEE Client creation wizard.  One option that is different is the top option "Do not use Autologon".  This option is unchecked by default and is recommended to leave unchecked.  If you check this box, this means the autologon functionality will **not** be included in the SEE Client.  If you later decide you would like to install the Autologon client you will need to do a repair using the "reinstallmode=vemus addlocal=all" option with SEE 11.3.1 MP1 and above. It is best to leave this unchecked. 

Autologon is very useful to use for Windows 10 upgrades where multiple unattended reboots are used.  The Autologon can be enabled prior to the upgrade, and once the Windows 10 upgrade has completed, the autologon can be removed, which will re-enable the preboot screen.  

In fact, there is an Advanced Setting in the policy for SEE that allows either an Windows Administrator to enable autologon, or using the SYSTEM account you can enable this feature.  For more Information on this functionality, see article 213085.

Once you upgrade to SEE 11.3.1 and the autologon client is included, you will then need to uninstall the legacy Autologon client.  For information on how to uninstall the legacy autologon client, see article 213079.

Additional Information

178697 - How to use the Autologon Utility for Symantec Endpoint Encryption version 11

213085 - Enabling or disabling Autologon for Symantec Endpoint Encryption using Advanced Settings

227535 - Symantec Endpoint Encryption Autologon Reporting

213079 - Uninstalling the legacy Autologon client for Symantec Endpoint Encryption after upgrading to 11.3.1 and above

174999 - Symantec Endpoint Encryption Autologon disables at preboot after upgrade

 

Attachments