search cancel

API-1030 when trying to change the password in the New UX

book

Article ID: 97592

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Clarity PPM SaaS Clarity PPM On Premise

Issue/Introduction

After setting up our users to access PPM, we've provided them an initial password to sign in with and set the 'Force Password Change' option to true in their resource profile. When they log in with their one-time password, we expect them to be able to set a new password for themselves.

However, when trying to sign into the New UX with their one-time password, they aren't taken to any screen through which they can set a new password, and instead are shown the below error message
 

"Error during login API-1030 : Password is expired or needs to be changed. Contact your system administrator for necessary action."

Cause

This is caused by defect DE40388.

Environment

PPM 15.3/15.4

Resolution

The above defect has been resolved in the upcoming release of Clarity 15.4.1. 

There is not a change in user interaction.

NOTE: Correction to the actual text that is generated from the API

OLD: Prior to 15.4.1

API-1030 : Password is expired or needs to be changed. Contact your system administrator for necessary action.

NEW: As of 15.4.1

API-1030 : Error during login. Password is expired or needs to be reset

The user can then use the 'Forgot Password' feature to change password

Workaround:
In the meantime, the following options can be used as workarounds to the problem

  • Uncheck the 'Force Password Change' option for the resource and set a password that can be provided to the user. The user can then either continue to use that password to sign in, or they can use the 'Forgot Password' in the New UX to set a new password for themselves.
  • Instead of signing into the New UX after the 'Force Password Change' option is set to true for the resource, they can sign into the Classic UI. Upon signing in, the user is directed to the proper page for changing and setting a new password. Following those steps, the 'Force Password Change' option is automatically turned off for the resource.