search cancel

Does the Clarity PPM / MSP Integration tool prevent users from updating a project currently in use by another user?

book

Article ID: 138787

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Clarity PPM On Premise

Issue/Introduction

Does the Clarity PPM / MSP Integration tool notify you (or prevent you),  if you’re attempting to update a project that is currently being updated by another user?

Environment

Release :  All Supported Releases

Component : CA PPM MICROSOFT PROJECT (MSP)

Resolution

Yes, the system will prevent the user from updating the project in MSP if the project remains locked in Clarity PPM. 

  • The project will show as locked in PPM and be only available to open in MSP in read only mode not read/write.
  •  If the user then opens the project in read mode and does try to save it back to PPM, they will get an error since the project is locked saying:

U
nable to save project (Project ID). Another user has already locked this project. The lock will have to be cleared to open this project read/Write or to save to it.