search cancel

What does the option "Replace" do when trying to export a universe to a folder which already has a universe with the same name?

book

Article ID: 53569

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

CA IT Asset Manager CA Software Asset Manager (CA SAM) ASSET PORTFOLIO MGMT- SERVER SUPPORT AUTOMATION- SERVER CA Service Desk Manager - Unified Self Service CA Service Desk Manager CA Service Management - Asset Portfolio Management CA Service Management - Service Desk Manager

Issue/Introduction

Description:

This document explains the functionality of the Replace function when exporting an universe.

Solution:

Every universe has a CUID which is an unique identifier in the Central Management Server (CMS). If a universe is exported to a folder which already contains the same name, it will prompt to either Replace or Cancel. This happens because the name of the universe is same, however the CUID is different for each universe. The Replace option should be used to overwrite the existing universe with the new one.

The Replace option does the following :

  1. All the objects with references to the existing universe will still be able to find the universe.

  2. All ACL rights like View/Edit etc are preserved.

  3. All Security Restrictions are preserved.

  4. Replaces the definition of the universe (.unv file).

  5. Replaces all connection information.

  6. Update the revision number to be the maximum (local revision number, CMS revision number) + 1.

Environment

Release:
Component: ARGIS