What is required to delete transaction classes that are not used anymore. Even if it is a default OOTB transaction class that is not used, can they be deleted or should they be left alone?
Release: CLARITY PPM - 14.x, 15.x (ON-PREMISE AND SAAS)
If a Transaction Class has not been used, the application will allow the record to be deleted through the UI. The application does a validation check and if the class has been used, an alert will show to indicate it cannot be deleted.
The application checks for the use of the Transaction Class in the following areas:
If you find that you have existing data in Budget Financial Plans or posted into WIP you won't have the ability to edit these records to remove them and thus the Transaction Class will have to remain in the system for data integrity for this historical data. There is a job that will allow you to 'purge' investment financial data and delete the investment, but this should be used with caution as it permanently deletes data. The 'Purge Financial Tables' job will NOT remove any Financial Plans on the investment. The job only removes financial actual transactions. To remove the detailed financial plans, you must also run the 'Delete Investments' job after successfully deleting the financial actual data.
Reference current product documentation for more information on the 'Delete Investments' and 'Purge Financial Tables' job.