Identifying supported MIBs for ESXi versions
search cancel

Identifying supported MIBs for ESXi versions


Article ID: 324983


Updated On:


VMware vSphere ESXi


This article describes how to use VMWARE-ESX-AGENTCAP-MIB.mib to determine which MIBs are supported by a given ESXi release.


VMware ESXi 4.1.x Installable
VMware vSphere ESXi 6.0
VMware vSphere ESXi 5.0
VMware vSphere ESXi 5.5
VMware vSphere ESXi 5.1
VMware ESXi 4.0.x Embedded
VMware ESXi 4.1.x Embedded
VMware ESXi 4.0.x Installable


To determine the MIBs supported by a given ESXi release:

  1. Download the VMware MIB files. For more information, see SNMP MIB module file download (1013445).
  2. Extract and view the VMWARE-ESX-AGENTCAP-MIB.mib file.
  3. In the file that matches the version you want, search for these lines. For example, in ESXi 5.1, the relevant lines are:


    The SUPPORTS clauses indicate what is supported/not supported for each of the listed MIBs.


    • For each standard MIB (if it is IETF), RFCs are provided.
    • For IEEE MIBs, the name is provided.
    • For proprietary MIBs, the name and revision is provided.
    The end of the section for a particular product version is indicated by ::= { vmwEsxCapability x }, where x is an integer.
    For example, in ESXi 5.1, the end of the section is indicated by ::= { vmwEsxCapability 4 }.

    You can also get the list of supported MIB modules to SNMP client software from an ESXi system.

    To get the list:

    1. From the ESXCLI, type esxcli system snmp set -c public -e 1.
    2. From a client Linux system or MIB broswer use this query to provide the list of supported MIBs at runtime:

      snmpwalk -v2c -c public sysORDescr