Privileged Identity Manager Naming History
search cancel

Privileged Identity Manager Naming History


Article ID: 242403


Updated On:


CA Privileged Identity Management Endpoint (PIM)


Over the years, Privileged Identity Manager has had a number of name changes. There was an audit request to list the previous names for the product and their versions.


Using the product release announcements from the Broadcom Support site, the following list of names and corresponding versions was compiled.

Product Name Versions
eTrust Access Control 4.1, 5.0, 5.1, 5.5
CA Access Control 5.2, 5.3, 8.0, 12.0, 12.0 SP1
CA ControlMinder 12.5, 12.5 SP1, 12.5 SP2, 12.5 SP3, 12.5 SP4, 12.6, 12.6 SP1, 12.6 SP2, 12.6 SP3, 12.8
CA Privileged Identity Manager 12.8 SP1, 14.0 (Server only)
CA Privileged Access Manager Server Control 14.0,14.1

Additional Information

For version 14.0, there are two different management server names which contain different architectures. The Privileged Identity Manager 14.0 server contains the same functionality as previous versions. Privileged Access Manager Server Control 14.0/14.1 is a management server as well, but does not contain the Shared Account Manager (previously called Privileged User Password Manager) feature, which was replaced by the integration with Privleged Access Manager. The endpoints for 14.x are named Privileged Access Manager Server Control and can communicate with both management server types.

The list of product release and support announcements can be found in the links below.

Privileged Identity Manager:
Privileged Access Manager: