A PGP Server (Symantec Encryption Management Server) cluster member may need to be removed from the cluster for various reasons.
If a PGP Server cluster member needs to be removed from the cluster, please do the following:
Sometimes, clicking on the delete button causes you to be returned to the administration console logon screen. When you login again, the cluster member has not been deleted.
CAUTION: Before attempting to delete a PGP Server from a cluster, it is best to reach out to Symantec Encryption Support for further guidance.
This is because cluster members are commonly just fine, and further troubleshooting can be performed.
In other environments where the PGP server's database is large, deleting the cluster node, and re-adding will sometimes complicate things, making it necessary to replicate all the data again.
PGP Server (Symantec Encryption Management Server)
In order to delete a cluster member using the administration console, you must be logged into Encryption Management Server using an account that has the SuperUser role.
Navigate to System / Administrators and check that the account you are using has a role of SuperUser:
If removing a cluster member using an account with the SuperUser role does not work first time, please do the following:
It is possible to remove a cluster member by making changes to the database but this needs to be done very carefully to avoid serious consequences. Therefore, if the cluster member deletion still fails, please open a case with Technical Support.