IDMS: The three types of SCHEMA explained
search cancel

IDMS: The three types of SCHEMA explained


Article ID: 210835


Updated On:




In IDMS, there are three distinct types of SCHEMA.

This article describes the differences.


Release : All supported releases.
Component : CA IDMS/DB


The three different types of IDMS schema can be broadly described as follows:

  1. Network-defined
    This is the traditional IDMS network schema which groups the logical AREAs, RECORDs and SETs together together under one entity. SUBSCHEMAs are then generated against a SCHEMA for application programs to reference.

  2. SQL-defined
    This is for SQL-defined databases and is little more than a means of grouping all native SQL-defined database entities together in one collection. This includes tables, views, table procedures and procedures.

  3. SQL schema for network database
    This is essentially an SQL schema, however its only purpose is to point to a combination of network schema and DBNAME, and expose the records in that database as SQL tables, with the SQL schema name assigned.
    This type of schema can be used for nothing else. Views, table procedures and procedures must be defined in a "type 2" schema above, even if they are more related to the network database in question.