search cancel

Confirm Reduce Role Allocation function. How does it work?

book

Article ID: 199781

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Clarity PPM On Premise Clarity PPM SaaS

Issue/Introduction

Settings:

Team Object > Default Allocation % set to 100

Any resource added to the project will be fulfilled at a 100% allocation between project start and finish dates

1. Create a project

2. Add a role to the team.

3. Set the allocation % to 300

4. Add a team member whose primary role is the one already assigned to the team

5. You get prompted with the Confirm Reduce Role Allocation pop up.

6. You see the details of the role allocation and the allocation segment to be transferred to the resource (Allocation % 100)

7. Choose Yes

8. The role allocation has been reduced on a 100%.

9. Now the role is allocated at 200% and the resource at 100%

 

Settings:

Team Object > Default Allocation % set to 0

Any resource added to the project will be fulfilled at a 0% allocation between project start and finish dates

1. Add a new team member whose primary role is the one already assigned to the team.

2. You get prompted with the Confirm Reduce Role Allocation pop up.

3. You see the details of the role allocation and the allocation segment to be transferred to the resource (Allocation % 0)

4. Choose Yes

Expected Results: The resource to be added at a 0% allocation and no role allocation to be decremented.

Actual Results: The resource is added to the team at a 100% allocation and the role allocation is also reduced on a 100% base.

Additional information: Regardless of the default allocation % at the team object, when confirming role allocation reduction, this is always reduced at 100% base

Resolution

This was discussed internally with Product Management.

The pop up itself can be misleading as it might give the impression that when the default allocation % is set to a non 100% value, the resource will only take that portion of allocation from the role.

However, Clarity transfers the role allocation % as a full allocation segment to the resource.

If no allocation is to be transferred to the resource, choose No instead of Yes.

The Reduce Role Allocation option is only used on the Classic UI. This is not a Modern UX functionality.

On the Modern UX, when you add a staff member to a project with a primary role that already exists on the project, the staff member is added and no role allocation is transferred to the resource.

When replacing a role through the Staffing Module > Requests portlet, the whole allocation is given to the resource and the role is removed from the team

For further information on the Modern UX Staffing, please see:

Clarity: Replace a Role with a Named Resource

As this is part of the Classic UI and no such functionality exists on the Modern UX, no changes are expected to the affected product area

Attachments