Release : All supported Clarity releases
The Purge Financial Tables Job permanently deletes all financial transactions for a specified project. It does not remove anything else.
If you then want to delete the associated hours on the assignment or task, change the track mode on the project to None. Then you should be able to delete the whole task or assignment. If you then want the task/assignment back you will need to recreate it.