What does the “Delete Package files if unused on the Package Server” setting do?

book

Article ID: 181052

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Management Platform (Formerly known as Notification Server)

Issue/Introduction

 

Resolution

Question

What does the “Delete Package files if unused on the Package Server” setting do?

Answer

This setting is designed to be used when Package Servers should delete unused packages. It exists on the Settings tab of the Package Server page. Once checked, an order of events must occur for packages to be deleted. First, a countdown to remove package files on a Package Server will only begin when either of the following occurs:

  1. The package is unassigned from the Package Server.
  2. The package is deleted from the Notification Server database.

Both of these situations result in the package no longer being sent down to the Altiris Agent in the Package Server node of the configuration XML file.

Once this occurs, the Package Server updates the PackageStatus.xml file that it stores for each individual package and sets the Status flag to "Deleted", and the Time flag to that time, when it was removed from the configuration file.

By default, the package status files are located at the following location on the Package Server computer:

C:\Program Files\Altiris\Altiris Agent\Package Server Agent\Package Status

At each Package Server configuration refresh, the Package Server will check for a Deleted flag inside all the Package Status files and if the corresponding Time flag value has exceeded or “gone past” the duration configured for the deletion of unused packages, then the package files will be removed.

For Notification Server Internal packages, such as the Altiris Agent, and others, there are no different or unique parameters that cause the countdown or deletion to change in anyway. Notification Server internal packages are getting deleted the same as other packages.

One point to note is that, for example, if packages are configured to delete immediately, the deletion does not happen at the exact time the package is removed from the config file. The removal occurs at the next interval of the package refresh schedule on the Package Server. To quicken this process, click the Refresh Packages button inside the Package Server UI.