search cancel

A new feature is installed even though the Auto-upgrade was set to maintain existing features.

book

Article ID: 174688

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Endpoint Protection

Issue/Introduction

When an install package is applied to a client group with "Maintain existing client features when updating" checked, the clients in the group install one or more new features.
 

Cause

When upgrading clients using Auto-upgrade, features which did not exist in the client's previously installed version will be automatically installed. This occurs even if "Maintain existing client features when updating" is checked.

Environment

14.2.x, 14.3.x

Resolution

The following features are installed upon upgrade from the specified legacy version:

12.1.x:
Memory Exploit Mitigation (14.x)*
Application Hardening (14.2.x)
Protection for Active Directory (14.2 RU1)
Network Traffic Redirect (14.3 RU1)

14.0.x:
Application Hardening (14.2.x)
Protection for Active Directory (14.2 RU1)
Network Traffic Redirect (14.3 RU1)

14.2, 14.2 MP1:
Protection for Active Directory (14.2 RU1)
Network Traffic Redirect (14.3 RU1)

14.3, 14.3 MP1:
Network Traffic Redirect (14.3 RU1)

Note: Some features require additional licensing, and will be inactive after install until a license and relevant policy are applied.

To prevent these features from being installed during Auto-upgrade, you must assign a customized Client Install Feature Set with the undesired features unchecked.

*Memory Exploit Mitigation is part of IPS, and this feature cannot be removed separately from Intrusion Prevention.