Work around for splitting a User Story when receiving the error 'the user story was being deleted by another user' in Agile Central.

book

Article ID: 16489

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

CA OPS/MVS Event Management & Automation CA Agile Central On Premise (Rally) CA Agile Central SaaS (Rally)

Issue/Introduction



How can a user split a user story that throws the misleading error 'the user story was being deleted by another user'? 

Environment

Release:
Component: ACSAAS

Resolution

A user is attempting to split a User Story by checking the split checkbox. After some time a message appears “the user story was being deleted by another user”.  This is not the case! Nothing was deleted, but the story also wasn’t split.

 

 

Splitting of User stories can be an intensive database operation, the most expedient way to work around this issue is to simply copy the user story as follows;

1) Copy the user story instead of splitting it (a new FormattedID number is generated for the new story,

2) Mark the new copy as Unfinished and retain the "completed" tasks only. 

3) Move the original story to the next sprint and mark as continued with "In Progress" tasks only 

4) Parent the stories as appropriate.