Axengine Logging level explanation
search cancel

Axengine Logging level explanation


Article ID: 161772


Updated On:


Ghost Solution Suite


Technical Support Engineer can ask to enable additional Engine logging for troubleshooting purpose.



GSS 3.x


 To know what logging level is required for troubleshooting.


To Set AXEngine logs open Symantec Ghost Suite Config...  by following these steps:

Control Panel (small icons) > Altiris Deployment Solutions > 'Options..' button  > 'Debug' tab


Windows start > Altiris> Configuration > 'Options..' button  > 'Debug' tab


enable 'Engine Debug Logging'


Most common logging level would be level 5, as it's containing most of information required for troubleshooting, and does not affect performance of the engine much.

Yet in some random scenarios, higher level might be required. Here's information what level of logging would write to the log file:


Logging Level 1:  A cursory logging. Log only important functions, and important errors.

Logging Level 2: Logs Database errors.

Logging Level 3: Logs Functional flow

Logging Level 4: Logs important request and response

Logging Level 5: Logs all request and response in client and server communication

Logging Level 6: Not used at this point of time. (meaning that we do not use messages with this value in debug)

Logging Level 7: Logs client Server related important parameters like, client ip, cookies etc.

Logging Level 8: Not used at this point of time. (meaning that we do not use messages with this value in debug)

Logging Level 9: Deepest log level. In this log level, application will pint all messages written for printing. Also it has covered all database relevant transactions. It gathers almost all data.


Please note:  Whenever log level is X, it will cover all logs from 1 to X.

Where X value is from 1 to 9

For example: If current logging level is set at 4 ; Then all logs set from level 1 to level  4 will get printed in log file.