About Endpoint Protection phased engine releases
search cancel

About Endpoint Protection phased engine releases


Article ID: 157239


Updated On:


Endpoint Protection


This document describes the current implementation of the phased release process used when a new Symantec Endpoint Protection (SEP) engine update is released.


There are 2 main types of SEP updates: content updates, and engine updates. Content updates occur very frequently (as frequently as 3 times a day for Virus and Spyware protection content updates). They don't include new binary code. Engine updates implement new features and updates by updating drivers and other binary code. Symantec thoroughly tests new engine updates internally using test systems that mimic as wide of a variety of customer environments as possible, but it is not always possible to anticipate every possible interaction.

The phased release process allows Symantec to gradually release new engine updates to incrementally wider audiences. This limits the number of computers exposed to a specific engine update before an unforeseen issue is discovered.

Symantec encourages all customers to use the Early Adopter System (EAS) for early access to engine releases for environmental compatibility review.