How to preserve/restore Personal Configurations when republishing a Clarity View

book

Article ID: 140290

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

Clarity PPM On Premise Clarity PPM SaaS

Issue/Introduction

Are there any best practices or recommendations on how we can work with our customers to preserve their personal configurations when object views are republished?

  • We have a number of users that setup personal configurations on the various system portlets (Project List, Project Filter, Idea List, etc)
  • Anytime we make a change to the application that requires a republish of object views, the customers personal configurations are wiped out/removed.

Environment

Release : All Supported releases

Component : CA PPM APPLICATION

Resolution

Unfortunately, there's no way to preserve a user's view if republishing a view within clarity PPM, as publishing resets any users customized views. 

  • The one recommendation prior to publishing views would be to:
    • Suggest users take screen shots of any views and custom filters prior to the reset.
    • Once the view is published, the users can then go in and re-customize their views.
  • If you've already published a view:
    • The one option for a user by user basis to restore their views:
      • Provide the users access to a non production environment where they could compare their customized view setup there. 
    • Another option if you have another environment that has the same views and want to restore for all users:
      • Identify the affected object, view etc.
      • Export the views with content package from the non production environment and import into the impacted environment

Additional Information

To submit an enhancement request reference see: 18799