Agile Central - Editing and Viewing: Selecting "No" in the dialog pop question is still changing my editing mode. Why?

book

Article ID: 110142

calendar_today

Updated On:

Products

CA Agile Central On Premise (Rally) CA Agile Central SaaS (Rally)

Issue/Introduction



When changing my mode from Editing to Viewing, a dialog pops up asking to confirm. I select "No", but yet my mode is changed.

Why? Is that a bug?

See the 4 screen shots below:
- I am in Editing mode.
- Changing to Viewing mode.
- Dialog is popping up asking to confirm.  I click: "No".
- Then, despite my selection, my mode is changing to "Viewing".


<Please see attached file for image>

User-added image

<Please see attached file for image>

User-added image

<Please see attached file for image>

User-added image

<Please see attached file for image>

User-added image

 

Environment

Release:
Component: ACSAAS

Resolution

No. This is not a bug.

In this sequence you already made your selection to change from Editing to Viewing mode, and this is why you are entering Viewing mode.

The dialog is asking if you would like to apply this to your default detailed page mode. The "default detailed page mode" is going to impact how this screen behaves after this change takes effect. If you opt to click "Yes, change to Viewing" this will only take effect after you logout and log back in again. This is where you profile settings will be reloaded. At that point, if you enter this page then the default entering mode will be 'Viewing'.

When you clicked "No" to this dialog, you basically said that next times (after logout and re-login) your default mode shall stay on 'Editing' which means that this page will load up in Editing mode.

But, again, this selection is NOT overriding or replacing what you just changed for your immediate experience with this page. It only applies to the default mode which takes effect after your settings will be reloaded.

Here is this setting that's mentioned. Click "My Settings" -> the see the argument: "Default Detail Page to Viewing Mode".
If checked this means that you will enter detail pages in Viewing mode.
If unchecked this means you will enter detail pages in Editing mode.

Your answer to that dialog is going to impact this param and will take effect after logout and re-login.

<Please see attached file for image>

User-added image

<Please see attached file for image>

User-added image


To conclude:
This dialog is irrelevant to the immediate change you just made asking to enter the page you work on in Viewing mode.

Attachments

1558697761193000110142_sktwi1f5rjvs16j38.png get_app
1558697759492000110142_sktwi1f5rjvs16j37.png get_app
1558697757679000110142_sktwi1f5rjvs16j36.png get_app
1558697755734000110142_sktwi1f5rjvs16j35.png get_app
1558697753771000110142_sktwi1f5rjvs16j34.png get_app
1558697751812000110142_sktwi1f5rjvs16j33.png get_app